Comparison

In 2014, I struggled. I struggled with comparison. Day after day. Hour upon hour.

It left me defeated, feeling useless, purposeless and incredibly insecure.

I would override in my head what God called me to-I  would make up excuses. “She can do this better.” “Wouldn’t you rather have her as a friend?” “But what about ______?” “Why would you want ME when you can choose her?”

Close to the end of 2014, I disabled my facebook. I have done this before-it certainly isn’t the first time. I’m not blaming facebook itself, but for me, it was a huge tool I used to carry out this comparison. I would scroll thro
ugh the feed upon waking up, typically with one eye closed due to the brightness of the screen. I would pick it up in any spare second- scroll-scroll-scroll. I would look at it in the bathroom, at work, and even while driving. I made the decision to step away from facebook on a whim, but I am so glad I did.

IMG_2792

Only let each person lead the life that the LORD has assigned to her & to which God has called her 1 Corinthians 7:24

Its only been a few weeks, but here are some of my reflections:

-I am uniquely made by the creator of the universe. The God who made the stars, he knit me together. He planned my pretty green eyes. He planned for me to be short and mighty. He selected my dimples and my big smile. He made me quirky-to love vacuuming and taking hair out of hairbrushes (Yes, I am UNIQUELY strange!)

-AND he created you. He planned YOU. He placed the dreams you have in your heart. He created your beauty and unique personality. He prepared the way for you to be exactly where you are. Most of all, he made unique plans and purposes for you. Things only YOU can do.

-My relationships with others have the opportunity to flourish when I allow them to be who God called them to be and when I allow myself to feel genuine joy instead of comparison.

-I am a better friend, servant, and daughter when I am resting in God’s promises of who He made me to be. When I come to peace with my identity and rest in the truth of who God made me to be, I do not feel jealousy about what others have, are or do. I am more confident in myself-simply by embracing who God created ME to be.

IMG_2920

 As women, it is SO easy to fall into this trap. Its 2015- it is a new year. Let’s embrace who God made us to be and the unique plans he has for us this year. We won’t be disappointed.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us Ephesians 3:20

Leave a comment